Computer Spec advice

Am running Cubase 8.5 through an ASUS laptop, with 6gb RAM, and 2 hard-drives, one with 370gb (which all my cubase stuff is on) and another drive with 530gb space. The processor is an Intel core i3.

I have downloaded trial versions of Groove Agent 4, Halion 5 and Halion Sonic 2, and to be honest my laptop just cannot deal with it, it just breaks up and often crashes. I have adjusted the buffer size either way (running through a Focusrite Scarlett 18i8), pretty sure my laptop is just not powerful enough - probably lacking in processing power. I intend to buy the VST Absolute Collection 2 so that I have a nice collection of stuff to play with at my power.

Any advice regarding computer spec requirements to run smoothly would be appreciated. I imagine I would be better off running through a desktop, but as a non-computer expert I would appreciate some advice, perhaps you could let me knoew what you guys use. I’m not rolling in money but I’d rather hold back and get what would function well.

Some advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Those Hard Drives are most likely 5400rpm in all honesty, it’ll be fine after you open it up but after you add a few VST’s and things, I really wouldn’t expect much.

… and truth be told I have yet to ever have a Laptop that has an internal AudioCard that I would trust for Music Production… they generally suck so having the Focusrite is a good start and you can use it on either setup you go with.

My DAW I custom built and one of thge things I ALWAYS make a high proprity for my builds is the ability to grow and expand as needed.

Some VST’s use DFD option and others load to RAM. This is pretty important if your limited in the budget but have an Idea of what type of VST’s you are gonna use. That way you can put your $$$ into what you need now but as I said before, leave yourself room to expand.