Controlling note groupings and beamings with X time signature

Hello folks,

I’m new to Dorico and one of the things I’m slightly struggling with is how to work idiomatically with Dorico’s tendency to rewrite rhythms and beams. I appreciate the focus on trying to use consistent style rules, but sometimes it makes it tricky to get what is wanted.

One example is the following rhythm. Written in a 3/4 time signature it displays as I want:

dorico-rhythm-example-3-4

However, if I switch to (or start with) an X time signature, Dorico insists on compressing the last tied notes:

dorico-rhythm-example-X

How can I get Dorico to understand the note/beam groupings that I’m looking for when a time signature is not present? (In this case it would suffice for Dorico to understand that notes are still grouped by quarter.)

Obviously I could just write using hidden time signatures and make barlines invisible (although that seems to be non-trivial…), but I’d really like to understand how to use the no-time-signature option effectively and idiomatically. Can anyone advise?

Thanks and best wishes,

-- Joe

You could use Force Duration, press o first.

Jesper

I was pretty sure I’d tried that, but I’ll give it another go. Thanks for the reminder anyway!

Is there any way to prevent Dorico from rewriting the rhythms when a time signature is changed (e.g. if I edit the 3/4 and turn it into an X)?

Don’t think so, but could be wrong.
Anyway possible with Force Duration

Jesper

Actually, if you select all the notes and press o before changing time signature you’ll get this.

Jesper