Converting notes to grace notes

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Dorico and I’m loving it.

However, I’m stuck on a mundane and maddening problem.

I’m notating a bluesy piece which has a bunch of grace notes. I played it in to Dorico and I want to cover some of the notes I played in to grace notes.

However, simply selecting a note and than clicking the Grace Note (/) from the side bar doesn’t work. I need to delete each note and than re-enter it as a grace note.

Is there a faster way to do this? Can’t I convert between a grace note and a normal note?

Thanks!
B.

3 Likes

You can’t currently convert gracenotes into normal notes or vice-versa. Sorry!

Thanks @pianoleo ,

I guess I will have to re-input the grace notes until an update adds this feature (hopefully).

Happy New Year!
B.

BoWild, when you re-input the notes as grace notes, how do you proceed? Are there not two additional steps in deleting the note and changing the note value of another note first? I wonder, how the software should be able to do these two steps at the same time. It would probobly have to assume, that the missing time will have to be replaced by adding it to the following note?

Hi @k_b ,

Actually, the missing time is an easy fix, since I played the notes in.

Since I played it in to Dorico (live playing), both the grace note and the target note appear as a chord. When I remove the (not-yet) grace note from the chord, there’s no timing issue (no need to adjust note lengths or rests).

But I think this will be the most common scenario (grace notes appearing as a chord together with their target note). As a worst case scenario, it’s easy to adjust the previous note’s length to fill in the space… much easier than re-entering notes.

To replace a note with a grace note, I currently perform the following steps:

• read the note (so I know what to play).
  • select the note that should have been a grace note (click).
  • delete the note (keyboard).