Copy files from audio folder instead of export?

Hi everybody,

I’m a beginner and would like to ask for your advice.

My situation:

• I have recorded 20 songs with the Cubase AI-version that came with my UR-22. All tracks in the songs contain only raw waves (no effects, level 0.0db, etc). Basically, these are just preproduced instrumentals (already mixed, in stereo), my vocals (as I have recorded and comped them, in mono), and a few sounds and vocal samples that I added (in stereo).
  • Now, I want to give the songs to an engineer for mixing and mastering. He told me that he uses PT.

My problem:

• Unfortunately, I have discovered that Cubase AI doesn’t come with the “Batch Export”-functionality. In fact I can only do a stereo mixdown. So I would need to solo each track, name it and export it. That would take me hours, would be prone to mistakes and in the end I would have a lot of stereo tracks (which might cause additional work for the engineer).

My idea of a workaround:

• I record a silence and paste it into the beginning of each track, so that they all start with the first bar. (This will take some time, but with the “snap to events”, I guess it’s doable.)
  • I would then “bounce” all tracks.
    (- I would create a backup.)
  • I would use the delete “all unused audio”-function.
  • Now, I have only the .waves in the audio folder file that are part of the project and start at bar 1.
  • I could send these to the engineer.

My questions:

• Do you see a better way to do this? (Unfortunately, I cannot afford a better Cubase version right now and don’t know anybody who has one.)
  • Will the engineer be able to recognize which tracks are mono and which are stereo?
  • Is there any source of a potential loss of information that I don’t see right now?

Your help is highly appreciated.

Thanks, Daniel!

Hi and welcome,

This should work.