Correct use of 'Calculate Harp Pedals"

I’ve been engraving [my] harp music for many years, so I was looking forward to the way Dorico deals with it. I was initially nonplussed by all the ‘out of range’ red notes, but now understand the connection with the pedal settings. I also think I might have misunderstood the function of ‘Calculate Harp Pedals’, having been used to a plugin in another program. How do experienced Doricans use this? For me, it gives the required settings for one rhythmic position, but not a change of pedal. I experimentally selected the last beat of b. 31 to the first beat of b.32, and this diagram appeared:
Screenshot 07-13-2021 15.00.27
The change to Bb is not indicated.
I fully understand that I’d probably expected this feature to do something different, but what is the correct context in which to use it?
[Later] I’ve just thought - is it meant to be used in conjunction with the ‘out-of-range’ colouring? That is, if there’s a red note it means you need to insert a pedal change manually before it? I can see that that would make sense, so that the ‘Calculate Harp Pedals’ feature then is reserved for the opening pedal settings of each discrete passage.

Hi Gareth, here’s the introduction to harp pedaling in the manual. You should find further links at the bottom to more specific bits of info, such as inputting harp pedal diagrams from scratch and calculating appropriate pedals based on existing music.

The introductory video Ant made for harp pedaling might also be helpful:

1 Like

Thanks, Lillie. I had in fact studied the manual entry you mentioned, but the video is what taught me all I need to know about the way Dorico approaches this. (In fact, my afterthought above was along the right lines after all!) So many thanks for drawing my attention to the video.

Great! Could you be a bit more specific about what was in the video that was perhaps missing from the manual?