CPU/MOBO Suggestions for new build

Hello all,

I’m running 10 Pro today on an Intel 7500U laptop 16 gb ram. It runs fairly well for the first 1/2 of my projects, then I have to start freezing.

I’m primarily a guitarist and a typical project will have 10-14 DI guitar tracks running with S-Gear, TH3, Bias FX, Helix Native, or occasionally Kazrog, Trillian for bass, and Superior Drummer 3. With my VSTi running I usually have to start freezing guitar tracks after about the 5th or 6th instance, and once I start adding VST keys (Halion, Serum, Air Music etc) I have to pretty much freeze all guitar tracks and Trillian and each VSTi as I finish the track. At the end of the project I’ll normally have 35-40 total tracks so it starts becoming a pain pretty quickly.

With my current system I get acceptable latency for DI recording on my Focusrite 2i2 running 44.1 with 256 bufffer. Thunderbolt is intriguing, but for a home studio the options available for 2-4 input boxes are a little rich for my blood so I have no aversion to moving to AMD if that’s a viable option.

I’m going to move to a desktop form factor and looking to spend around 12-15 hundred USD on the total build. I may also get Komplete so there will likely be more VST usage in the future.

I’m leaning towards 8700K or 9700K with a 390 mobo, 32 GB ram and a few SSD with an SSHD for sample storage.

Would I be missing much with the 8700 over the 9700 considering my anticipated usage? What about Ryzen? I read a lot of great things about them but I’m a little concerned about multi core performance in Cubase. There isn’t much info out there about them as it relates to DAW.

Any suggestions/comments would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!