Cubase 10 - Battling Tempo Detection !?

Hello,

I have a project that wasn’t recorded to the grid. My client’s drummer just quit her band, and she wants me to replace/re-record the drum tracks(I’m a drummer). I know how to let Cubase detect tempo, and create a tempo track. I also am aware of having the project sync to the tempo track, ect.

My problem is that, for whatever reason, Cubase is analyzing a certain section of the song differently, even though it’s the same tempo. The arrangement gets a lot busier in that part of the song, and Cubase assigns a very different tempo to that section, with a cut time meter. When I then go and try to select a specific tempo, all is find until it gets to that part of the song, then it slows down emmensly.

Anyone have a clue what’s going on here, and moreover, how to fix this?

Thanks,
Marc

I do run into this from time to time. Complex transients can cause big tempo changes or half-beat offsets. I’ll do a detection and see how far it gets. Then I’ll cut the event at the end of the good section, manually time warp through the trouble section, cut the event again at that point, and then re-detect tempo from that point on. Repeat as necessary.

Hmmm. I think I tried something similar. Instead of cutting the event I merely pulled the event smaller to left, right before the problematic area. At that point Cubase simply wouldn’t do the calculation. Again, no clue yet what’s going on.

why dont you just render the track stems, reput into a fresh canvas and use superior drummer to make the drums.
add a tempo track to have full control over the BPM

Cubase’s tempo detection never worked for me either.
I use cubase’s beat calculator to tap in the tempo.
Only issue I didn’t figure out why it never works for 6/8 time signatures , works ok in 4/4 tho

The client wants a real musician on the recording (me).