CUBASE 5 on Yosemite upgrade to CUBASE 7

Hi,

I’ve been using Cubase 5 for 4 years on iMac with OS X 10.5.8.
Few weeks ago I decided to spend some cash and buy new computer and upgrade to Cubase 7.
I bought a MacMini (late 2014) and the upgrade CD to 7.5 for Cubase 5 and 4.

Little did I know that I’ll get a MacMini with the OS Yosemite 10.10 which can not run the installation for
Cubase 5. :open_mouth:
So, now I’m stuck with the newest MacMini and the latest OS Version, but can’t use Cubase at all!

I know that Steinberg released the Installation Tool for Yosemite, but still it’s now applicable to Cubase 5 installation.

Does any one have an idea how I could solve this problem?

How about partitioning your MacMini’s hard drive ?

Then install Mac OS X, 10.5.8 to that partition and then install your Cubase 5 to the new partition.

That means you will have boot into the partition that has Cubase 5 to use Cubase 5 .

Also you should be able install your Cubase 7.5 to the same partition. Now you can use both on the same drive ( not at the same time of course ).

This new MacMini that I bought came with preinstalled Yosemite already.

I tried booting it with a bootable USBs that have OS X 10.8 and 10.9 on it, but it wouldn’t boot.
I tried to partition the HD, which is FusionDrive by the way, so I could install the older OS X version on it, and still it wouldn’t let me run the installation for OS X 10.8 and 10.9.

Then, when I run the Startup Manager, I used Disk Utility to erase the HD and tried to recover it from the bootable USB.
After that the Mac wouldn’t boot at all! - what happened is that I erased everything on HD and couldn’t run the Mac on an older OS X version that was installed in that way and couldn’t use the computer - the grey screen with circle and a line would appear after which it turns itself off.