Cubase 6 EDU freezes on startup...please help!

Hey folks,

I’m new to Cubase and DAWs in general so please offer help in a simple matter :wink:

So after I purchased Cubase 6 EDU and installed it according to the instructions I tried to run it…unfortunately Windows 7 reports that “Cubase 6 has stopped working”. This always happens when the startup splashscreen gets to the point of “INITIALIZING: VIDEO PLAYER”

I have absolutely no idea why it happens…

I already installed Quicktime and the latest drivers for all my devices.

I am running Cubase 6 EDU 64bit on a:

Lenovo Thinkpad Edge 15
Intel i5 430M Dual 2.27GHz
8GB RAM DDR3
120GB SSD
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 545v
Focusrite Saffire 6 USB

It’d be awesome if someone could help, after all not even getting Cubase to start sucks :frowning:

EDIT: I don’t know if it helps, but this is the problem signature:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Cubase6.exe
Application Version: 6.0.0.229
Application Timestamp: 4cf95e39
Fault Module Name: atio6axx.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.14.10.9405
Fault Module Timestamp: 4b4e8a7a
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000000000004f950
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 3081
Additional Information 1: dcd2
Additional Information 2: dcd2644ea752d9b208d3c812856726f0
Additional Information 3: 1f4a
Additional Information 4: 1f4a8cb7ad479d89feef7170c54f68c8

The atio6axx.dll from your crash log is an ATI OpenGL video driver so certainly would seem to be something video related.

Not sure what to suggest…one thing that may be worth a quick try is disabling Aero if you use it (Think you can just select WIndows Classic desktop to get rid of it temporarily)

Also make sure you do have latest ATI drivers installed.

Hopefully someone else will have a more educated idea!

doesn’t help…all that happens is that I get the error 1ms faster :smiley:

anyone got some other ideas?

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling my video drivers a few times…didn’t do the tick either…