Cubase 6 MIDI as master sending to Roland R-70

Hello. I have some grasp of MIDI but I am trying to do something specific I have never done before.

I have a MIDI drum track in Cubase 6 (Windows 7 64 bit). Currently I am using Groove Agent One for the sounds. But I want to use those MIDI notes to trigger the sounds inside my Roland R-70 Ryhthm composer instead.

What settings do I need to make on the Cubase side to send the MIDI notes from my MIDI track to the R-70?

I am using a MIDISPORT UNO as my Midi interface. I have MIDI-OX on my PC also.

Thanks in advance.

P.S.- I know I could sample my R-70 sounds into GAOne but I do not wish to do that for this project. I specifically need the sounds to be generated by the R-70.

You need to set the correct MIDI Output on the sending track.

Yep, it’s as easy as changing the midi output of the track from Groove Agent ONE to the Midisport. (I suppose you have the R-70 hooked up to the midisport already.)

Thanks. I had done that already. Changed the output from GAOne to the Midisport.

Should I be seeing the MIDI activity from Cubase in my MIDI-OX program? I would think so.

Note that I have another project with some MIDI keyboard. That keyboard track is getting through to the R-70, as I hear a few random notes being generated. Though no activity is showing in MIDI-OX.

I tried making sure the output settings on the Drum midi track were the same as the keyboard track but no luck.

I don’t know what MIDI-OX is, but you shouldn’t need it. If your midisport is installed properly it’s really just as easy as selecting the right output in cubase and the drumkit should receive midi.

MIDI-OX is a utility for the PC that allows you to see the MIDI data being generated. It helps to ensure that the MIDI notes are actually getting sent or received. And you can confirm the channels, etc.

Here is more info I have after experimenting.