Cubase 6 with Virus Ti 2 Polar

Hey all… I recently bought an Access Virus Ti2 Polar. It is my first hardware synth so im new to recording/ editing through MIDI tracks (I normally use Instrument tracks)

All it is when i normally create bassline’s etc. with my current soft synths (E.g Sylenth1) - I can simply use the Inserts tab to add distortion, compression etc.

With the virus it is all MIDI tracks, which only allows me to add MIDI inserts which arnt what i am looking for,

I have read the manual and watched tutorial videos but nothing is 100% clear - I was thinking i may need to export my tracks as audio first then edit them - but the amount of tweaking etc. i do i would be sat here all day exporting and re-importing.

It does let me put an effect on the track, but this however affects all tracks. - E.g The Virus lets you have upto 16 different tracks on it, assigned to 16 different MIDI tracks in cubase… However if i put say a distortion FX on, it will affect all 16 of my tracks not just the 1 i want it to…

Does anybody have any suggestions for me…

Thanks!

Hi,

The Virus TI has 3 outputs. You have to activate all three of them manually, both in Cubase and in the Virus.

First of all, you have to load the Virus into a slot in VST Instruments (F11) since Cubase 6 doesn’t support multi-output in Instrument Tracks yet (they are going to support this in a later 6.x upgrade). In the VST Instruments window you see a little icon between “e”-button and the name of your plugin. If you click it, a little menu will show up where you can see all available outputs for that instrument/plugin.

Secondly, in the Virus, you have to choose what output, on each of the 16 midi channels, where you want the audio to go.

You will now have all three outputs of the Virus in the mixer, so you have 3 outputs for 16 channels (which is quite a lot for a hardware synthesizer - maybe with USB3 or Thunderbolt (Light Peak) we will be offered even more outputs).

Thanks for the reply!