cubase 7 and multi-core CPU's (before buying new DAW)

its not clear for me if buying a DAW based on win7-8 with cubase 7 will benefit from I7 cpu (or other powerful multi-core) or its a waste of money cuz cubase not utilizing multi core cpu anyway !! ?
if C7 is not utilizing multi core cpu its kind of shame isn’t it ? its long time since i7 cpu are here…
some thoughts on this and suggestions for good DAW computer but not spending $$ for something C7 won’t use ?

No but what is clear is if you are using halion 5 within Cubase 7 you will be utilizing all the cores which actually takes the strain off of Cubase 7 allowing you to do other processes :wink:

I know it’s not exactly what your asking but it is still a way to get full core usage within Cubase 7 :wink:

Cubase 7 seems to work well on my I7 multi-core, but I’m no expert.

when cubase is the host isn’t cubase manages all vstI cpu processing ?

well from this post looks as if cubase uses multi-core but its not safe with HT on ?
well maybe its better to buy anyway a multi core cpu based DAW ! maybe in that “Big” future cubase renovation they utilize cpus better anyway ?!!
but as my understanding its better to have lets say 4 core with 3.07 ghz then 8 core with 1.73 ghz ?!

cubase will scale across 32 cpu’s.

if you’ve got an 8 core 1.7 the chances are you’ll max out one of the cores with a powerful VI and so you’ll hit the red zone in your ASIO meter. A 3.4 GHz machine will have more headroom per core obviously.

I’m running a 6 core /12 thread machine here and cubase runs perfectly on it.

MC

ok thanks…
i had the impression cubase won’t utilize all cores or even only one core of many… i guess i was confused with HT…
now it’s clearer to me :sunglasses:

In the DAW world, Cubase/Nuendo is one of the best at multi-processor/multi-core scaling.