Cubase 8.5 and VE Pro 5 - Performance Question

Here’s one for the experts here. I’m new to Cubase so I’m not sure what to make of this.

I’ve been using Sonar for years and have used it with VE Pro running on the local DAW (not a slave). With the fairly large orchestral templates I use, this gave me better performance (= less pops and clicks) in Sonar. When I started my first project in Cubase I naturally used my VE Pro template and added more articulations. But I was getting too many pops and clicks.

Here’s the part I’m curious about - I moved all of the VSTis out of VE PRo and host them directly in Cubase. The result: goodbye pops and clicks! And I’m running at a lower ASIO buffer size…

Does anyone have any thoughts why VE Pro would perform worse that Cubase alone?

• I have gone through all of the usual steps to optimize my DAW and my specs are pretty good. Latency Mon is all green.
  • I tried turning off ASIO guard when using VE Pro. It seemed to help but not enough.
  • CPU, RAM and Disk activity are nowhere near overloading the system. CPU goes to about 25%, RAM is < 50%, Disk IO is nil (and I’m using USB 3 SSDs)
  • Most VSTis are Play with Hollywood Orchestra Gold.

Any ideas are appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave

I’ve been running Cubase 8.5 with VE Pro for about 7-8 months and haven’t had any major performance issues as long as ASIO guard is off. I have read that many people complain about ASIO Guard/VE performance, that ASIO guard has to be off. And that is indeed my case. If ASIO guard is on, I get hiccups and latency. Even though it runs fairly smooth for me, I am getting up there in CPU spikes.

Sorry this post isn’t any help. I guess it’s just confirming Cubase/VE performance issues. Steinberg told me they are supposed to release an update soon with lots of fixes. Hopefully this is part of it, and hopefully it is soon.