Cubase 8 - How to make keyboard sound more like a Grand pian

Hi there,

I’d like to apologize if this is the wrong section to make this post but this is my first time on this forum. I’ve recorded a couple keyboard covers of songs and whenever I hear the playback, there doesn’t seem to be any amount of depth in the audio compared to when I play it on my keyboard. Is there a way I can make the keyboard audio that I’ve recorded sound more like an upright/grand piano (where the lower notes would sounds would have more depth)?

Just a reminder, I’m playing the actual song and recording it through an audio interface+usb.

Thanks,

Anthony

You could try putting a boost EQ shelf on the lower frequencies, maybe try making the velocities harder on the lower notes? Are you recording audio or midi?

I believe audio. I’ve tried connecting everything to use midi (which hasn’t worked out) so I was hoping there would be a way by just recording straight from playing on the keyboard.

I’m no expert on audio editing, but there are some very knowledgeable folks on the forum who should be able to chip in.

Alright, sounds good. I appreciate your help!!

Try to play back your recording through the keyboard speakers. Either put it on usb stick or use the aux in on the keyboard. Just to compare.

I have similar experience. The keyboard sounds a bit better.
It may well just be the keyboard speakers with its “ultra wide stereo” and whatever other settings doing its magic.

Hey misohoza, I see what you mean, except I’m putting these piano covers on youtube so I might need a different method to solve that problem. I’ve tried changing the frequences on the EQ effects like how misosoup described it and it seems to be a bit better but only slightly.