Cubase 8 production workflow tips

Hi all,

I’ve been using Cubase for many years to finish pretty much all of my productions. I rarely ever start a track in Cubase though. Usually it’s something like Ableton where I can use the session view to get a bunch of ideas and variations of those ideas down really quickly and try out various combinations of those parts together. It’s great for starting ideas from scratch and getting a ton of material and possibilities together. I might start to do an arrangement in Ableton but usually I’ll just move all of the pieces to Cubase and do the arrangement there. This usually leaves me with a bunch of audio clips because it’s a bit tedious trying to save presets and move MIDI files to get VST instruments sounding the same in Cubase (never perfect).

What I’d like this thread to spark is some ideas on how to get a bunch of material down in Cubase as quickly as something like Ableton session view so that there is the possibility of having live synths and midi to work with in Cubase without the struggle of converting from one DAW to another.

I’ve only begun to think about it but maybe there could be some way of working with track versions and the arranger to achieve something similar to the clips and scenes in Abelton’s session view. It’s not that I want Cubase to be Ableton I’m just looking for a some workflows using Cubase to come up with a bunch of ideas and variations on those ideas quickly.

Thanks! :mrgreen:

You haven’t explained what style of music you make.
Try some or all of the following:

Arranger track
Chord track
Loopmash
Loopmash FX
Quadrafuzz
Groove Agent SE4
Beat Designer
Step Designer
Pattern Banks in Media Bay
Halion Sonic SE2 chord / arpeggio pads (examples: the FlexPhrased presets)

Lately I’ve had some fun sending the Chord Track to an Instrument Track with an arpeggiater on it.

Aloha A,

IMHO you are already doing the most efficient thing possible.

You are using two diff DAWS and playing to their strengths