Cubase 8...wow!

Yesterday was the last day of the 30% off upgrade promotion, so I pulled the trigger. It was time I got off of 6.5.

I’m already seeing benefits from the workflow streamlining. Being able to copy VST settings from one channel to another is such a boon. Now if I could be able to copy an insert by holding down Ctrl and dragging instead of having to add the insert manually, copy the settings, and then pasting the settings, things would be even better.

I only started playing with it last night. I can’t wait to see what other wonderful surprises are waiting for me.

To copy a plugin, hold Alt/Option when you drag and drop it. If you are wanting to duplicate multiple plugins on the same insert, I usually save an FX Chain Preset (click on the diamond to the right of Inserts in the Mixer), save, then load on the desired channel. Glad to hear you’re enjoying it!

ctrl+c & ctrl+v worked in your old cubase to copy & paste inserts between channels. :slight_smile: i actually prefered that way.

Alt+Click? That’s disappointing since 99% of GUIs follow the same standard (Ctrl+Click). But nothing that I can’t get accustomed to.

I’m looking at the Strip functionality in the Mixer and am soliciting comments on:

Compressor: these vs. NI vs. FabFilter Pro-C

Tools: De-esser vs. FabFilter Pro-DS

Saturation: Magneto II vs. the other stock vs. Variety Of Sound’s FerricTDS I normally use VoS on the master bus in my mastering project and never use it on individual tracks. But I used to be a huge fan of using Magneto (the original) on individual tracks.

Limiter: these vs. FabFilter Pro-L

Isn’t that still working on your system? I am still able to copy and paste inserts here…
copyInsert.gif

I didn’t try a full keyboard solution. From a usability perspective, you still have to use the mouse to select the destination insert slot so Ctrl+Click is the preferable solution, at least in my opinion.