Cubase 9 Pro play vsti notes transposed down by half steps

Hi,

I’m a musician and composer/arranger, a long time user of Cubase (I’ve been using it since Cubase Element 4).
Recently I have just purchased a brand new Cubase 9 Pro (not upgrade, since there was promotion yielding similar price in my town) and having problem with it.

What happened is: I imported my .cpr session template from my Cubase Studio 5.5 and start to import a MIDI file to work on my project (this is the first time I’m trying it in Cubase 9 Pro after previously done it thousands times in Cubase Studio 5.5). After putting the MIDI imports to the corresponding instrument in the template, when I hit play, what I hear is: all notes of the instruments are all transposed down by half steps! Yes, all of them! (I’m perfect pitched, so I can straight away detect this by my ears).

I checked the pitch bend on the VSTi, checked -pitchbends are all in center position. So, I did a few tests to confirm my ears:

1. I change the HMT Depth to 0, HMT Type to None. Same result, no change.

2. I bounced some parts of the song (instrument only) with both Cubase 9 and 5. Listen to them in both Cubase and Audacity. Result: both bounced tracks sounds the same pitch (both transposed down by half step in my ears). I created new Cubase project, imported the audio, and do VariAudio Pitch & Warp of the bounced audios -and they confirms the notes are the same. But I still don’t believe the result, so I proceed to the 3rd test.

3. I place my smartphones near my speaker to record the playback (exactly the same part) using both Cubase 9 and 5. Listen in both Cubases. This time they did sound different! The one recorded with Cubase 5 sounds the actual notes while one in Cubase 9 sounds transposed down by half step. Cubase VariAudio also confirmed it (using the same step as step 2).