Cubase AI 10 MIDI Record starts drum track

I am relatively new to Cubase and MIDI after 25 years away due to RSI. As such I am struggling to get going!

Having set up tom record my first midi track, when I click on record it triggers the drum track (MIDI Channel 10) on my Yamaha MX61 and I have no idea why, or how to stop it. There are no other channels or tracks set up, and no instruments loaded.

Any suggestions please?

Hi and welcome on the forum,

Do you use MIDI Click by any chance?

I don’t know. What is Midi Click? This is my 25 year absence from music tech showing up here! I am guessing there is a setting I need to change, but i have no idea which one!

Hi,

Could you attach a screenshot of the Studio > Metronome Setup > General and Click Sounds, please?

Apologies for the delay in answering - I am a long-distance truck driver and work ridiculously long hours during the week! As a new member to the forum, I can only include one upload in a post, so here is the general setup screenshot. I will try the second in a moment, if the forum will let me do that!
Metronome Setup General

Many thanks for your interest!

Dave Ellis aka Sausagefingers

Here is the second screenshot, of the Click Sounds, hopefully!

Metronome setup Click Sounds

Hi,

The Use MIDI Click is enabled, so this might be the think, but the the MIDI Output Port is set to Not Connected.

Could you attach another screenshot from the Studio > Studio Setup > MIDI Port, please? Do you have any Remote Device here?

MIDI Port Setup

Thanks for your interest so far. I really do appreciate it!