Cubase, Amplitube 3 and Stomp io automation

Hello,

Not sure if this has been covered but I can’t find anything.

I am new to Cubase, I have a set up including UR44, Cubase AI 9, and I have a Stomp I/O midi controller pedal plugged in to control Amplitube 3 which I have set up in Cubase as a plug-in. So now I don’t need two laptops (One controlling Amplitube and Stomp running Windows XP, and another controlling Cubase and Pinnacle Studio multi-cam running Windows 10). woohoo… Anyway, I can use Stomp to change the patches on Amplitube so that when I want heavy, I press the appropriate switch, then clean, press a different switch and so on.

It got me thinking, If I use an audio track in Cubase to play the drum backing track that I use, instead of my iPad (which uses one of the inputs on the UR44), can I set moments/points in that drum backing track to send a command to the MIDI foot controller, or even directly to Amplitube 3 to say “change to patch 000A NOW!!!”. Effectively this would mean that in a song like Metallica One, when I press play, Amplitube knows to use patch 000A clean, then when the moment in the backing track where I need distortion comes, it automatically changes to patch 000B and so forth.

If I had a set up for each song I play, including the drum backing track and presets, I would be able to play the song and change my sound without even touching the foot controller. Geez, I hope I haven’t confused you, I know I am confused. If this could happen then I will literally fall on the floor with excitement.

Any help you experts can offer would be hugely appreciated. Go Steinberg!!!

Cheers,
Morton.