Cubase composing tools

Hi :slight_smile:
So I am not a proficient keyboard player or a musician,by a long way off ( wish I could afford lessons,oh well)

Although I tend to play by ear while I am producing my music and good at putting sounds together. I have a lot of great libraries that contain instruments like piano,organs etc, and would really like them to sound good in my tracks :mrgreen:

Now I have been using Cubase Pro 10 ,on and off for a little over a year now. Due to work and other commitments outside music

And I was wondering the other day.What tools are there available to help us non keyboardists? As an example to keep me playing in scale .
naturally I am aware of things like Chord Pads and Circle of Fifths,but as yet to use them :blush:

Is there a lot more tools ,I haven’t discovered yet?

Any advice or help would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

I find one of the most useful basic features is the ability in the Key Ed to color the note events based on the Chord Track and not the default Velocity. Then if you have Chord and Scale Events on the Chord Track the Notes in the Key Ed will be color coded - in both Chord and Scale; in Chord not Scale; in Scale not Chord; not in Scale or Chord.

Greetings,

• 1 for Rodger’s suggestion.

You might want to try the “Live Transform” function. With it on and a Chord Track in place, you can just bang out a rhythm and let the Live Transform adjust the notes. While it doesn’t always give useful results, it is often helpful for “drafting” an idea and sometimes the unexpected results are interesting.

The Chord Track and Chord Pads are probably two of the strongest tools in Cubase and, once you get to know them, they are interesting and fun to use. With Chord Pads the user may just click with the mouse and the chords are recorded. Much more to all of this, but just mess around with it and you’ll soon get the hang of it.

Good luck :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot for the suggestions :slight_smile: