Cubase Elements 9.5.41 randomly crashes

Hello,

I’ve been using this version of Cubase for about 2 months now. Just recently (the past two weeks) I’ve been experiencing sporadic crashes. They don’t don’t seem to occur when I do anything specific. I could be doing something as minimal as moving my cursor to go select something and then my display will freeze for a couple seconds and then Cubase will close. It hasn’t happened during playback or tracking, but that could simply just be by chance. I don’t get any sort of crash report popup when this happens (nothing along the lines of “Cubase has encountered an error. Would you like to report the issue”) It just freezes, closes, and that’s it.

I’m currently running Cubase Elements 9.5.41 on a Dell XPS 15 running Windows 10. I’ve got an intel Core i7 8th gen and running 16 gigs of DDR4. I also have a GTX 1050Ti. My interface is a Focusrite Scarlett 18i8, but I’ve got a Steinberg UR44 on the way (the Scarlett drivers are a nightmare). Speaking of my interface, whenever I unplug it or power it down, my computer crashes on me and blue screens. The cause is always the driver. Maybe the driver and/or the Scarlett are the source of my problems then?

Is anybody else out there experiencing anything similar? How should I go about trouble shooting this? Also, if anyone knows where Cubase is potentially placing .dmp files after each crash, let me know.

Any help or direction would be great.

Thanks! :smiley:

Hi,

Attach the dmp file located in Documents/Steinberg/crash dumps folder, please.

Same problem Cubase Pro 9.5.40 Build 259 Sep 20 2018 - Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
No .dmp file for the crash that happened today, but here is the latest one that was in the dir.
Today’s crash happened while I was selecting a note. Cubase just disappeared and got dumped back to windows.
Cubase 9.5.30.192 64bit 2018.9.25 16.14.dmp (1.03 MB)