Cubase For Live Performance Rompler?

Long time Cubase user. I consider myself ‘advanced’ with DAWs in a studio environment, but for live stuff? I’m a complete noob. Never even tried using a computer on a gig before.

Just bought a Win 7 laptop–for personal use. But as a lark, I am toying with using it as a replacement for my ‘Rompler’ (Korg & Ensoniq keyboard WS) which are nearing their end… to play live shows. I think it has what it takes for use as a DAW…

7200rpm drive? Check
Core i5 processor? Check.
Super lightweight? Check.
5hr battery life? Check.
4GB DDR3 RAM (upgradable to 8) Check.

It passes the DPC Latency checker.

I also wouldn’t mind if it could also be used to do stereo field recording or perhaps take FOH feed and record shows.

I want to be clear that this is not really for -sequencing-. I mainly need this to load patches and switch them from my lib of VSTis… Komplete, Arturia, B4, etc.

I have no need for anything beyond stereo recording or output. Just need it to be reliable. The other 5 days a week it will be used to browse the web and do e-mail and that’s about it.

I see DJs running shows all the time with ‘Live’ and "Traktor’ and this can’t be any more taxing, right?

The main thing I wonder about is how to switch patches… and how quickly they’ll load in a performance environment (small clubs).

I’m thinking of getting a cheap MIDI controller (like M-Audio ES88) and testing this with ASIO4ALL as a proof of concept.

Anyone else doing this? I was thinking of making a song template, load the VSTis for a show and create markers and somehow move from one to the next patch by selecting tracks? Markers?

Or maybe there are other programs that are purpose built for this?

Thoughts? THANKS IN ADVANCE!

—JC