Cubase LE4/Windows 7 64-bit NO INPUT SIGNAL

I have been using Cubase LE4 for more than three years now. I have ALWAYS had problems setting it up initially for use (same issues with Vista 64 bit).

No matter what I do, I get NO input signal from my microphone (direct input into my on-board sound through the motherboard).

For some reason, usually after about 30-40 hours straight of changing every setting, downloading a million things, something makes it work. It’s usually off and on, but it works somehow.

I am using Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate, fully updated.
Cubase LE 4 fully updated.
My motherboard drivers (including bios) fully updated.
I downloaded ASIO4ALL and it’s fully updated.

No matter what recording program I use, there is no input signal, even though Realtek (the software that comes with the drivers for my motherboard) detects when I unplug or plug in my mic. (I know it’s working).

I follow the “getting started” guide to the letter.

I delete the default bus and add a new one.

I change the vts settings to ASIO4ALL and select the proper settings.

Once I try the set up which, as per all instructions and indications should work, I then try all sorts of bull I find on the internet.

So far, since reinstalling Cubase today, I have not be able to get it to work.

I am quite at the end of my rope here.

Could someone with some knowledge please walk me through this? I’m computer literate, but this is insanity.

This is my only hope and I really need this to work for my business and personal needs.

Thanks,
Mike

Did you set up the correct inputs in VST Connections? If this is so mission critical, then break down and buy a proper ASIO compliant souncard instead of patching junk with ASIO4All.

Thanks for your reply.

I did set the correct inputs (though I neglected to mention that in my post).

Will a dedicated sound card fix this issue, in your opinion?

Yes. Have you tried trashing Prefs?

Which prefs and what am I changing about them?