Cubase LE5 and Tascam US-144MK 2 sound problems

Hello there! First of all, I’d like to point out that I’m very new to home recording, so I don’t know much. I bought my Tascam US-144MKII interface two years ago, as I thought it’d be useful. Well, this week I finally got it working as I earlier had some problems with installing the drivers.

Now that I got the recording work, I have few problems left. First, once I have recorded something with my bass guitar, I can’t listen to it on Cubase. Only way to listen what I’ve done is to export it as MP3 or whatever and then play it. It seems like none of the Cubase’s sounds are working, as there’s no metronome sound either. Now comes the second problem. Once I’ve opened the exported file, the sound I’ve recorded with my bass guitar is bad. It’s close to awful. It’s buzzy and has a lot of distortion there.

I have no idea how to fix these problems, so I hope I find some help here!

Thank you!

Edit: Note that I have set the input level on the Tascam low enough so it’s not going to red and clipping. Also it’s not my speakers causing the buzzy sound, because even the recorded file sounds bad.

Anyone? :confused:

Computer specs? Cubase version?

Proper driver selected in device setup?

Record enable/monitor buttons turned off for the tracks you are trying to play back?

Input/output busses configured correctly?

Input/computer knob on the US-144 turned all the way to computer?

Speakers/headphones connected to the Tascam?

Details, man. Details.

Cubase version is 5.1.1 (I think)

I’ve selected the Tascam’s driver on the device setup, and I’ve tried ASIO4ALL too.

Record is enabled, and there’s no difference when I turn the monitor button on/off.

I’ve set the inputs etc with help of a tutorial video, so they should be right. I earlier had output as Stereo Out only, but when I changed it to Stereo Right, it made the playback work. Now later when I did the same it doesn’t work anymore. So I have to export it to listen.