Cubase Pro 9.5 - average load CPU maxed out

Hey hey everyone.

My average load meter is constantly maxed out. Granted I am working on a big project, but do you ever get the feeling that with your computer specs there should be plenty more give?? Or at least, it should not be at maximum capacity…

What are the causes of this?

I can’t say for sure if it’s the 9.5 upgrade, or just Cubase’s inefficiency, or if I genuinely have too many plugins.

I don’t get it!

Any information about the topic would be very helpful, as I’m pulling my hair out…

THANKS

Nope, Mac overall CPU not even close to max. Only within Cubase… Would be good to hear if others are experiencing this?

I am not a Pro at this kind of technical stuff but my guess is that Cubase shows you the realtime cpu load.
With that i mean that, when playing a Project, Cubase has to spit out all audio / midi/ plus FX in realtime, otherwise you would hear audio clicks/dropouts.
This realtime performance Cubase has to do, puts way more strain on your CPU than other CPU tasks that don’t demand realtime throuhput.

The mac CPU metering isn’t showing you (only ?) realtime cpu demands.
Thats why this mac metering is less than cubase cpu metering, cause there is cpu overhead available on your mac for other cpu tasks that don’t have to be realtime.

I am sorry if i am explaining things not very bright for you :wink:

Hmm interesting. That kind of explains the mac CPU headroom, but still it’s an issue for working within the project. It’s unworkable, and I’m not sure if the new Cubase is at fault or Cubase is just inefficient…

With ASIO guard on high, at 512, no tracks record armed, I can touch 100% out of my cores with out an ASIO Spike. Which i thought was impossible until i tried it a few days back. I was testing to see how well the higher ASIO guard setting was performing.