Cubase reliability

I’ve been using Cubase since around 1992. In my opinion ostensibly it is certainly the best DAW out there especially if you are like me and use all features - VST’s, vocal editing, production. etc. It excels at just about everything. I would hate to have to change.

Lately though I’m being cost lots of time money and frustration by the unreliability of this platform. The stupidest little things continue to happen and it’s so disappointing.

For example, I just got a master back and there is one vocal part that inexplicably is delayed more than the others. There’s absolutely no reason for this. On the first master it is fine, but we sent out for a revision and this particular track was untouched other than a tempo change to the song. I only noticed it on checking the return master - silly me - and it sounds like a delayed part in there. I’m now wondering should I pay for a further revision or just let it go. The whole situation is very unprofessional and should never happen with a pro DAW at this level EVER.

This is just one example, but I could list ten others like it that are very similar in one way or another. Silly inexplicable inconsistencies.

I don’t want to go into a whole rant or take half my day uploading screenshots and videos demonstrating all this. All I want to say and I’ve said it before on here is, Steinberg, I don’t give a rats behind about new features. Make the amazing features you currently have WORK consistently and RELIABLY. 90% of your focus should be on reliability for professional use, nothing else. Please. Or I’m going to have to make a switch to something else which I really don’t want to do.

People from mastering engineers to fellow producers are basically asking me why are you putting up with that, it’s not working properly, you need to use something else and it’s true. It’s really, really letting me down again and again and costing me a lot of time and frustration, as well as money.

5 Likes