Cubase Studio 4 Projects

Hello,

I’ve been using Cubase STudio 4 for many years and yesterday started getting a error message telling me there’d be a severe issue and to save my work.

I’ve no idea why, having been stab;e for years, this has happened.

I’m currently trying to re-install it but it seems so have frozen. This version of Cubase is still working fine on my desktop - it’s the laptop (which is newer) that is having the problems.

If anyone has any advice on this I’d greatly appreciate it.

However, I’m also aware that my version of Cubase is old so I was wondering if anyone knew if my current cubase studio 4 projects (which I’m still working on) would still open in Cubase 8?

Many thanks

Cubase Pro 8 can open Cubase Studio 4 projects, but note that the channel equalizer has been massively improved since then, so if you used it in your projects things will sound different. Not too hard to fix.

Many thanks for the response.

I just wish I knew if the problem lay with the software, E-license or the laptop.

I may try the trial version of Cubase 8 pro (assuming it’s still available to trial) and see how the laptop responds.

Annoyingly, STeinberg themselves see this product (cubase 4) as unsupported so won’t even suggest factors that bring up such error messages, Like I say, my cubase studio 4 set-up has worked and been stable for years.

You haven’t said whether this error is with a specific project or in a new project…and what happened with your possibly frozen re-install in the end??

In fact we don’t even know what o/s you’re on! Give more info if you want to attempt to fault find this.

So, after much investigation I’ve spent most of the day believing that the fault lay with a VST patch. It took some trial and error and a lot of looping but it seems one particular VST instrument was causing the error message to appear. Having started to write this reply I’m now aware that that might not be entirely true.