Cubase upgrade to 11 from 9 not working on new laptop windows 10

I have installed cubase and the elicencer on a new laptop after upgrading from 9 to 11. I cannot get it to work. I’ve raised a support ticket and keep getting nowhere. I managed to get the licencer to recognise my upgrade but cubase refused to launch: Could not connect POS, click OK to abort. Then I was advised to uninstall and reinstall the licencer and now the licencer does not recognise my activation code (Currently there is no licence available which can be upgraded by your upgrade licence) so back to cubase support - nothing since yesterday. I’ve got 30 years experience as an IT consultant so am fairly computer literate. How can this software be so problematic ? I appreciate any help that can be offered.

Cubase Pro 11?
Typically the activation code is used once then installs the license on the USB device.
Or is your license for a lower version of Cubase and installed on your laptop itself?

Cubase Elements. I had a licence for Cubase 9, upgraded an old PC to windows 10 and it stopped working. Couldn’t get it to work. So I thought I’d try upgrading to 11 and on a new laptop I’ve recently bought as a fresh install. Managed to get the licence activated but cubase wouldn’t launch with the Could not connect POS error. Back to support who told me to uninstall and reinstall and now the licencer doesn’t recognise my cubase 11 activation code and any trace of cubase 9 in my products has gone. Any suggestions ? Thanks

Elements uses a soft-elicenser, one that is installed on the laptop… I think.
At one point I had to find that license on my laptop and delete it.
And start fresh.
I don’t know how to do that, but that’s the direction I’d go in.
Perhaps someone with Elements will chime in.

If you go into your MySteinberg area, I think there’s info about how to deal with a soft-elicenser, and move it off your laptop, onto new one, or to simply reinstall it.