Cubase VST import - volume curves, legacy FX

I have just tried for the first time importing one of my Cubase VST projects via SX3 into Cubase 8; in SX there is some weird “In between” “select track” step that shows a list of incomprehensible stuff, I just chose the first one and ended up with an arrangement.

1. One thing I was using on wave tracks a lot were volume curves, they are either hidden or wiped, is there any way to import them with the song? Everything at the same volume is not good…

2. How do you paint / display a volume curve on the wav track in Cubase 8?

3. Is there any way I can use some of the legacy FX (or at least re-route them) - I used the stock reverb32 quite a bit.

4. Almost all wave events display an inner “box” on the track window, does anybody know what this means?

I have been recording in Cubase VST for 13 years now, it is going to take some time to import everything into Cubase.

TBH I would say it’s unrealistic to expect a VST project to import into current Cubase and expect it to play back as if the last 20 years haven’t happened! You will at least need to re-configure the projects and set up the mixes again. It might well be a whole lot better anyway - my memory of Reverb 32 is that it was rubbish!

The ‘inner box’ on the wave events shows that there is more than one audio file on the track. You can break it into its individual tracks using Dissolve Part (I think that’s it, under the Audio menu)

Volume curves are MUCH easier now - simple fades and complex curves - I suggest RTFM… C8 is a very different animal to Cubase VST.

Good luck and welcome to the 21st Century!