Cubase8 PRO + Virus TI = Issue

Hi, i have been using cubase since 2009 with my virus TI. With cubase5, i was not having issues using my virus TI. Now that i upgraded to Cubase8 PRO, i am having a lot of issues.

It is saying everytime that the synthesizer cannot connect to the host, and suddenly the sound just is gone. I solve the issue restarting cubase8, creating a new project, adding a new fresh channel with virus, and it just awakes, then i go back to load my project and it works until cubase just decides to crash or to stop the audio.

I know also can be an issue with the synth, but i want to know if someone here uses the same combination of tools.

I am also using the Virus as interface and synthesizer at the same time!
xd

Any clue about the issue?

Cheers!

I have a TI and about to upgrade to Cubase 8. Currently testing compatibility on Elements 8 trial.

I’ve not had the issues you’ve mentioned but what I have noticed is, the virus does not like Cubase ASIO guard. The Virus likes the buffer to be 512 or under. When you change the ASIO guard settings, even if you have the buffer set at 512 the Virus won’t like it. Cubase is sort of setting higher buffers for tracks not record enabled or at least that’s what my experimenting suggests. Ideal for non hardware VSTS, gives you more tracks with out having a large recording/playing notes latency.

If you set the Virus ASIO to 128 or 256 when using the ASIO Guard I think it still stays with in the range of latency that things don’t mong out. I use a separate Firewire interface so I’m not adjusting the ASIO via the Virus.

Does the VST3 and VST2 version of the plug in load on your set up?

Connection Issues are usually due to an incorrect install or if the Virus is still connected to a crashed host. Loading new with out a turn off of the TI or reboot will show no available Virus as it’s still thinks it’s connected else where. Again I could be wrong but that’s just what my experience, experimenting suggests.