custom key signature (Maqam Rast) / Transposing keys

Hello,

I don’t know if anyone could help me with my question.

I’m very new to Dorico and I’m trying to understand how to create a custom key signature that includes microtones. In Arabic music, the key signature for a common Maqam known as Maqam Rast is what I’d like to try first. The key signature is often written with two half flats (B and E). How can I emulate that within Dorico?

Also, I have some Turkish music notation for Oud, which I’ve found to be 5 steps above the Arabic oud. Is there any way I could create a custom key signature in Maqam Rast and then transpose it up to the Turkish tuning while maintaining the current divisions between each note?

I hope this makes sense. Many thanks in advance.
Turkish version.png
Arabic version.png

1 Like

Hello,

I am very new to Dorico and I am trying to create a custom key signature based on the notation conventions of Maqam music. The first Maqam I’m trying to create a key signature for is called Maqam Rast, which in the key signature has two half flats (the B and the E). I’ve been playing in the custom key signature section of Dorico but haven’t been able to successful achieve what I’m trying to do. Can anyone show me how this could be done?

Also, I am curious to know if customized key signatures can be automatically transposed? The reason I ask this is because the Turkish makam notation system is slightly different from the Arabic notation, and I’d like to standardize my collection of digitized scores.

Many thanks in advance!

Please start with the documentation here, which will explain the concepts and where to look in the application. The important steps are to define your own tonality system in the Edit Tonality System dialog, and then to ensure you create a key signature with your new tonality system chosen in order to use it in your project.