Data Loss Bug/Quirk with Project Backup!

In my tests they were.

had to recover from True Image backup

The files are only removed from the project and the Pool, but remain in the Audio folder.

Can you please reconfirm that, not my findings

Those are my findings for the Original project, not the Backup of course…

Okay I will retest on my end

Thanks. This is a hard to repro issue, thanks for doing the repro. I’ll post back once I’ve reported, but first I’ll watch this topic for any additions.

1 Like

So the gist of it is if you do a backup and keep the current project active and delete unused files you will not be able to use undo on you main project.

So if you keep the main project active it deletes the files and then creates the backup.

If you don’t keep it active it creates the backup and only deletes files from that.

hmm, on my retest… the files were still in the audio folder… but i swear it hard removed files from both the active and backup audio folders.

so either I’m mistaken, or, there’s another variable somewhere.

This is why simple and brief repro sequences are needed. While you create one you are forced to reveal every nuance each step might cause. It’s rather painstaking work.

I did end up putting one at the bottom of the OP but it wasn’t as good as Louis, as I was in the process of figuring out what exactly the repro was.

I will do some more testing as, there might be a variable with how the project has been saved before doing the back up.

virtual hugs everyone hugs

It’s possible I was mistaken for sure… but I did have to drag in audio files from TI backup and there were for sure some missing because windows didn’t ask me to overwrite… and I hadn’t done any local project cleanup actions yet. I’m 75% sure I looked into the active project audio folder to recover and couldn’t get the numbered audio files I needed.

So I’m going back and trying to recreate all the conditions that I can remember…

It’s using which ever project is active as the basis to remove files. It has always done that though. That’s why I hate it.

If you use the remove unused data from pool (clips etc) it does the exact same, it deletes everything not used by the current project in the audio pool for that project, even if the data is used in other projects. It only looks at the current open active project. It’s been like that for a long time.

What is worse is by default in the hub will put the audio from all projects into one folder shared pool folder (a more terrible idea I cannot even fathom). So anyone pressing the remove unused files will delete all audio from all of their projects that are not currently active and share that pool.

That is what needs to be made very very clear in the manual and it’s not made clear. The system does not check if the audio is used in any project closed or not active. It has always deleted based on the active project.

But actually the backup is doing what is expected, it’s removing the audio based on the active project. It’s just that if you do not keep your main project active the backup is made and becomes active.

It’s not a nice function, I’m quite scared of it. I use it to make new projects from my demo project but I would never use it outside of that. It’s too scary to contemplate that by accident you have select the default audio directory and suddenly all you audio goes missing from multiply project.

It would be far better if the manual was very very clear on what it is about to do and if there is any undo or not on that function.

To be fair, I’m pretty certain it works this way in other DAWs as well… i had a Ableton friend lose all their audio the same way.

1.) It would reຊuire some pretty clever code to sort out what you are saying, probably OS dependent as well

2.) It could create a different kind of mess if it didn’t work the way it currently does. How would the program know what the user wants referenced and or doesn’t care to be referenced? That could be very annoying and confusing very ຊuickly if your old backups are chirping.

imo, the best solution to the issue you’re bringing forward… would be to just get rid of the “default location” (I always stayed away from that) protocol and FORCE users to create separate project folder directories as that’s the better engineering work ethic anyways which should be encouraged.

But this is an entirely different subject and problem, so I would start a separate thread.

1 Like

That is the best thing and I wish they would do it. What Cubase is doing is inviting ppl to destroy their music on a large basis.

When I first stated to use the hub that happened to me and I lost about two years of audio. I had no idea the hub was using a default location. Some audio I found and some was just gone.

They need to update the manual, make it clear there is no coming back from it.

But it would be nice if they just moved the audio to a delete folder or the bin. So the user has to option to put it back or really delete for good once they know the damage it has/ has not caused lol

1 Like

" FORCE users to create separate project folder"

that’s the thread title you need to post mate. I agree with you

1 Like

I might just create that now as a feature request. :slight_smile:

Sometimes workflow enforcement is good. Certainly better than losing data.

1 Like

Better to be safe than sorry lol

1 Like

Yeah… Cant recreate the dual audio folder deletion… I still swear though… I swear.

I mean, there are other variables… who knows… the project was open for 10+ hours, could that change something? I’m not sure. Could it be a memory thing. I don’t know. A combination of Save New Versions and backup? perhaps a closing of Cubase and re-opening. Active project on one hard-drive, backup on another…

I’ve tried a bunch of things including most the above… Can’t recreate the dual deletion. Could be something to do with how ‘Trash’ in the pool is handled that I’m not aware of.

There is potential that someone could lose both though if they, did the thing we’ve repro’d here… and then and then did another final backup sometime down the road and then deleted the version that had stuff in the audio folder. That’s not what I did though.

not sure, spookyness somewhere or I was mistaken at what I was looking at. Maybe I was looking at the audio folder from a location box that doesn’t show audio files or something. who knows. still though… I did drag things in from TI backup… and had never done a ‘Remove Unused Files’ + ‘Empty Trash’. at least not that I remember…

2 Likes

Added to the issues list, number 33.

In the meanwhile, please do not check the Keep Current Project Active option when doing a Project Backup.

:arrow_right: Reproduction Sequence.