Delay in Save

Recently I’ve noticed when I press Ctrl-S to save (a frequent and automatic occurrence for me), Dorico freezes for about 6 seconds. I don’t remember this ever happening before.

Any idea what might be causing this? I’m not experiencing anything similar in other programs. It seems small but has become quite an annoyance, especially when I’m rapidly saving, Saving As, and closing multiple projects.

Dan, I find that having “Generate preview thumbnails when saving” ticked in Project Info adds quite a bit of time to save operations. Could this be the cause of the delay you’re seeing?

4 Likes

Hmm, I’ve never done anything with that before. Unchecking it does seem to speed up the process, I think… thanks. Unfortunately it seems to be checked by default on every single project I open, and there isn’t a way to turn this off in Preferences, unless I’m missing something.

Yes, it’s checked by default and there’s no preference to turn it off. Perhaps some day there will be — I always uncheck it on all of my projects. I don’t find the thumbnails to be useful enough to justify the longer saving times.

2 Likes

I would certainly also welcome the ability to turn off thumbnail generation globally if that would reduce Save time.

I suspect the delay must have another reason. I never switched off “Generate preview thumbnails when saving” and don’t have any freezing after saving. As I understand it, the phenomenon is new to you too, Dan? Anything working in the background?

I have InDesign running, and a few other things, but that’s always been the case. The delay is relatively new.

And it doesn’t matter how big the score is? Maybe a thermal problem?

These are mostly single-page scores, and I’m running a Ryzen 5900x. The CPU is absolutely bored.

Saving 20 MB InDesign files is faster!