Deleting editor keys: UI button vs. [Delete] key

In this video capture of Dorico 5.0.20.2042 for Windows, I delete MIDI pitch bend keys first using the interface button (trash icon), then I undo the operation, then I delete them by pressing [Delete] on my laptop’s keyboard:

dorico_midi_pitch_bend_deletion

As you can see, information remains on the graph after the first deletion, but not the second. Intuitively, I would expect the second result in both cases.

What is the first method doing vs. the second method?

Nothing different, really, except that the delete button in the Key Editor toolbar doesn’t cause Dorico to immediately refresh the cached playback information, whereas hitting the Delete or Backspace key does. You’ll find that as soon as you perform another edit that this data really has been deleted. Nevertheless, we will fix this in the next update so that both methods of deletion show the same result right away.

3 Likes