Does side-chain input blind the plugin to the "normal" input

Hi -

I’ve never used Cubase’s side-chain option before, so I don’t know if I’m expecting something that is not meant to work that way. Can you guys set me straight please?

Set up:

1. I’ve inserted a plug-in (Melda’s MAutoDynamicEQ, “MADEQ”) into an audio piano track, and activated the side chain.
  2. I set up MADEQ so there was a large amount of dynamic gain reduction (the dynamic compressor function, where there is less gain reduction at lower volumes, and more gain reduction at higher volumes).
  3. I’ve sent a vocal track to MADEQ’s side-chain.
  4. I then muted the piano track itself.
  5. I then played a section of the song that had no vocal, just piano, and observed the behavior of MADEQ’s dynamic compressing function - the node’s dynamic envelope (the downward “bouncing” action of the gray “envelope”).
    What I observed:
  6. Even in portions of the song where there was no vocal to be sent to the side-chain input of MADEQ inserted on the piano track, there was still dynamic gain reduction occurring, as evidenced by the dynamic node envelope behavior (the dynamic downward bouncing gray “envelope”).
    What I infer:
  7. Even though the side-chain is active, MADEQ is still “keyed” by the audio on the track it is inserted on. In other words, the side-chain input does not make MADEQ “blind” to the track itself.
    What I expected (in my inexperience using side-chains ever before):
  8. That once the side-chain was activated, MADEQ would be keyed only off the side-chain, and would indeed be blind to the audio of the track it is inserted in. In this situation where there is no audio playing, I expected there would be no dynamic gain reduction occurring on the MADEQ inserted in the piano track.

Is that a silly expectation? Is there no way to have the plug-in that is inserted on the piano track respond dynamically only to the voice track that is entering it via the side-chain?