Dolby Atmos - Nuendo

For all users of Nuendo,
I am a Pro Tools Ultimate user. I recently made a crossgrade to Nuendo 13. The positive side of Nuendo is that it manipulates three-dimensional objects from multichannel tracks, Pro Tools is limited to operating with objects from a stereo track. On the other hand, in Pro Tools I can directly insert a multichannel plugin into the mono/stereo channel and operate (and switch) the track within a diverse scenario: 2.0, 5.x.x, 7.x.x, 9.x.x, etc. and Ambisonics modes (Pro Tools Ultimate supports up to seventh-order Ambisonics). Furthermore, the plugins operate in successive chains, for example, we can start with an Amb 3rd scenario and end with another plugin in 9.1.6. I confess that I have a lot of difficulty working in Nuendo using the power of the extensive features of plugins such as Sound Particles, ab Brewers, Eventide, etc. Still, I’ve admired the way Nuendo operates the panner tools, which are much deeper than Pro Tools.
If Steinberg improves the insertion of multichannel plugins directly into a mono/stereo track, Nuendo will certainly be the most powerful tool, in my opinion.

I think this is possible but in a different than in PT. In Nuendo you need to make a track that goes to a bed or bus that has the correct output format (7.1.4/2OA, etc). Than you can insert the plugin. Tracks do not adapt automagically like in PT.
Check out Michael Wagners youtube channel he has many Nuendo videos with multichannel and atmos as topic.

Nuendo “thinks” differently, but all of this is possible, too (apart from HOA above 3rd order). The “official” way is to create an audio track in the desired format (e.g. 5.1.4) and to drop your mono- or stereo file there. There’s no doubt that ProTools way to change the format by means of the chosen plug-in is a better workflow, but actually you won’t miss a lot.