Dorico and Transcription/Smart Midi

Hi Everyone

I’m currently working on transcribing, by ear, a range of piano improvisations (midi-files), they contain tricky syncopated rhythmic lines and are played freely so the tempo does subtly vary.

My question is how would Dorico 4 improve on my workflow and what steps would I take to quantise/ use settings to bring up fairly accurate notation. I’ve seen how accurately relatively simple files can be imported but I need to know what steps I need to take for more complicated files.

If this could be a time-saver it would be brilliant.

Many thanks

Keep well.

Patrick

In Extreme Australian Orchestration on his Debreved orchestration site, Tim Davies recommends using a DAW to quantize MIDI files before importing into a notation program. The Cubase “warp” feature might help here (although I am no expert in Cubase).

Yes, you really need to ensure that the timing grid is aligned with the MIDI file using Time warp in Cubase (or similar tool). Depending on how much the tempo varies you might need to align the first beat of every bar or every 2 bars.
You can then re-export the MIDI file so that Dorico can produce notation that more clearly represents the intention.

Thank you Paul…much appreciated.

BW
Patrick

Thanks Derek

That makes sense to me. You wouldn’t happen to know if there is something similar for ‘ ‘ ‘Logic ‘ as I use macs.

I’ll check out the Tim Davies site.

All the best

Patrick