Dorico Elements 3.5 - Clef Crisis

I am new to Dorico Elements. I have successfully created a project with multiple flows to keep separate movements (of a suite). Every movement has the same parts and instruments (by intention). I imported xml files into each flow. All is mostly OK except one of the instruments has the wrong clef? How can I change its clef for that flow alone? I have looked for several hours at how to fix this. I suppose I might, in desperation export to MuseScore edit and re-import but I’d rather prefer to get to the bottom of the problem.

Clefs are in the right panel of Write mode. Or you can select whatever’s on the first downbeat of that stave and type Shift-C treble Enter or Shift-C bass Enter or Shift-C alto Enter (etc.).

As to “getting to the bottom of the problem”, where’s the MusicXML file coming from? Is the clef correct in whatever program generated the MusicXML?

Thank you for your attention. I had previously looked at what you suggest but it seems superficial. It inserts by overlay a new clef symbol which can be subsequently deleted/replaced while the underlying clef cannot be deleted in this way. There are evidently two ways to set the clef and I’d like to ensure that in all flows for the part-instrument the clef is always the same.

Can you Change the Instrument in Elements? (Setup mode)

Screenshot

Adding a clef in Write mode is an override for the global instrument definition.

Try changing the instrument from the left panel of Setup mode. You’ll need to click the disclosure arrow to the left of the player to reveal the instrument, then hover over the instrument until you see a further disclosure arrow to the right. Click on that and go Change Instrument. Then search for whatever the instrument should be.

(edit; pipped to the post by @benwiggy)

I can change instruments but then I end up with multiple instruments in the part and a lack of consistency with other flows.