Dorico Elements 4.0.1 Disappearing verse numbers

I’m still quite new to Dorico - so eager to be put right :slight_smile:

Just updated from 4 to 4.0.1 and loaded a project. A single staff with 6 numbered verses of lyrics, but the verse numbers weren’t visible, though they’re shown as active in the properties panel at the bottom. Switching them off and on again did not work.

My workaround has been to export to xml and import to a new project, which then allowed me to turn them back on.

If this isn’t unique to me and my one small project then it could be a problem for anyone working on multiple or more complex songs so I thought I should report it.

Could you attach the original project in which verse numbers are set to appear so far as you can tell but they don’t actually appear? Thanks!

Ashington Stan - Prelude.dorico (1.0 MB)
Thank you Daniel - Here it is

Additionally - and I mention this only in case it has a bearing on this issue, I’m not asking for help with this bit. I discovered some odd things with the lyrics in some places when I exported and imported the xml file. Going back to the original file some words are visible, but only a blank appears if you right arrow through them (see bar 6 last note) - to fix them I backspaced at the blank and re-entered them. A few words disappeared - consistently in the same place for each verse. I fixed the original and re-exported/imported OK.

Since I’m so new I’m quite willing to believe I did something odd when I entered them - equally I can’t tell if it was something to do with the update. So possibly worth mentioning in case you come across it elsewhere.

Thank you for looking into it

Best regards
Jim

Thanks for attaching the project. It’s interesting! The problem, as far as I can see, relates to the fact that the verses whose lyrics start at the beginning of the first full bar rather than in the pick-up have lyrics of empty spaces, and that’s upsetting things – was that an intentional choice on your part?