Dorico for iPad How to reposition Tempo in score?

The Tempo is in the way of inputting the first chord in bar 1. I’ve selected the quarter note = bpm symbol but I’m unable to get it to move. I’m a Dorico newbie and no doubt this is real simple. Someone please tell me how to remedy this. Thanks.

Do you want to move the tempo as in increase or decrease it, or move it to a new rhythmic position?

If you want to increase or decrease it, you can double-tap the tempo to show the popover, then use the on-screen keyboard (or an external keyboard if you have one) to edit the tempo value, then hit Return to confirm your edit.

If you want to move it to a new rhythmic position, you should be able to tap on it once to select it so that it goes orange, then drag it with your finger.

Move left rhythmically. I did select it and it turned orange with a line going down towards the 1st note in the score. I could not get it to move, but maybe I was only using my Apple Pencil. I’ll try again with my finger and see if I was using the wrong “device”.

The problem is, it will only move to the right not the left. Instead, it jumps down to the same position in the staff below. I dragged it back up and it insists on ONLY moving right. Impossible to get it above the Treble Clef.

Ah, I see. To move it graphically without changing its rhythmic position, drag it in Engrave mode.

Thank you! My first time in Engrave mode, but that did the trick and that’s where I saw guidelines. I’ve been wondering how to get all my chord symbols to line up in a straight horizontal line if I want to move them, and I think you just gave me the answer to that question, too.