MusGlyphs: Bravura for writing in time signatures and other glyphs

There was a discussion the other day about writing time signatures into standard text, and I decided to try my hand at creating a font to do that.

This font uses Bravura glyphs and scales them appropriately to use with text, including ligatures. The idea is to be able to type directly and intuitively for the needed musical glyphs without needing to adjust baselines and font size.

The time signatures are created using ligatures.

Please give feedback on how it works for you (especially on Mac), and what ideas you have for expanding it. I’m very new to Font Forge so it’s likely there are a lot of mistakes. Let me know if the size and kerning looks ok.

Also, I’m using Bravura glyphs, so I want to make sure to give proper credit for that.

14 Likes

I am not a font expert, but this looks beautiful, and it is amazingly convenient. Works like a charm on Mac. Thanks so much Dan!

1 Like

Would it be worth it to include flat, sharp and natural here as well? That way you wouldn’t need to copy-paste glyphs from SMuFL. I may be wrong, but I don’t know of a way to easily include these glyphs in shift-X text.

Definitely, I’ll add those.

3 Likes

Super ! Time signatures, clefs and flat, natural and sharp would be very nice to have in shift X text. Thank you :+1::grinning:

1 Like

Cool Dan!

You could expand more :

sub eight eight by eight_eight
sub four five by four_five

and so on… :wink:

Nice font indeed and good job.

Why not add key signatures too! (treble, alto and bass clefs) a bit more hard work here, if you want I can help :wink:

Updated version is posted.

I added the following:

L = lines (5-line staff)
T = treble clef
B =bass clef
A = alto clef
b = flat
n = natural
I tried to add # for the sharp glyph, but it’s not working and I’m not sure why.