Dorico not ready for prime time?

I’ve been using Sibelius for a few years and Notion prior to that. (Ok and Music Construction for the Amiga!).

I became interested in Dorico, as it touted as being the next generation of notation software with some great new features. I tried downloading the trial version last year, but I couldn’t get it to install. (I download and install software all the time and don’t have any issues)

At any rate I got an email about Dorico this week and gave it another look mainly at the reviews. All the reviews I read state that while Dorico has some great features it was essentially rushed out and some basic features don’t work (i.e. repeats). Also many reports of constant crashes.

Sounds like I should wait for awhile for the dust to settle… Be nice if they extend the crossgrade option at least until they have a working product!

Walt

I don’t think it’s an accurate characterisation of the experience of our thousands of users that Dorico crashes constantly at all. Dorico was also certainly not rushed out: we have been working on it for more than four years. In an ideal world the software would have more features already, and we are certainly working on adding features as quickly as we can, but we are not going to go any more quickly than it is possible to go. It is more important that features are added to a high quality and level of completeness than that we add half-baked features that are not fit for purpose.

If you would like some assistance in getting the trial version installed and running, I or one of my colleagues would be very happy to assist you. You simply need to provide a few more details about your computer, what the specific nature of the problem you encountered was, and what steps you have taken already to try to resolve them, and I’m sure we can get the problem resolved.

I would recommend you make sure the functions that you use in a notation software are already working. Why if you realize he’s developing, as they claim.