Dorico on two computers? Solution?

Hi,

I recently bought a laptop to be able to do some work from home. I am new to Dorico and still learning the application. My production studio has internet, my apartment doesn’t. What is my best option to be able to use Dorico on my laptop and also in my studio. I am the ONLY user of my software and it will NOT be used on two computers at once. I have never encountered this issue before as all of my other software allows for at least 2 installs. In fact, FCPX allows for up to five installs on a single license! Please advise me as I would love to get up to speed on Dorico!

Thanks!

Devin Thomas

The only solution is putting your license on the USB eLicenser dongle, then plugging the elicenser into whichever computer when you want to run Dorico. You’re not limited to a particular number of computers; you are limited to using the dongle if you want to run Dorico on more than one computer.

The USB eLicenser is available for sale from the Steinberg online store, from many music and music tech retailers, and from Amazon.

I recently changed my config to have Dorico run only on the laptop and connect to desktop peripherals through a docking station. Works very well. In fact I dumped my ancient desktop and run everything from the laptop through the dock. I have Dorico wherever I am. I get two screens when at home as a bonus. The dock cost about $70.

USB ports are not made to last forever. Actually, it is quite common to find wore connectors in older computers. So, not something one can do one or more times a day.

Paolo

It’s really unreasonable to not allow two computers for Dorico. As an artist and educator I need to have my programs on both my home iMac and my MacBook Pro. I hope this policy changes soon.

Welcome to the forum, zelinsky.