Dorico Pro 3.1 & 3.5 and VE Pro 7 Issue

Hello Dorico team,
I’d noticed the following issue when combining Dorico Pro 3.1 and Vienna Ensemble Pro 7 (check the screenshot):

As you can see the Buffer size in VE Pro 7 Server (512) doesn’t match the one of the RME UFX interface (128). The Buffer size of the VEP VST3 plugin is 1024.
When using VE Pro 7 (the same settings) with Cubase Pro (VST Guard turned off for VEP), Overture 5 or Studio One everything is fine.
The buffer sizes of both the Audio interface and the VE Pro server are the same, and for the VST 3 plugin is 256.

Is there any way to fix this latency issue? It seriously affects the real-time recording.

The workstation I have is able to handle normally large orchestral projects at Buffer size not higher than 256. Even when mix and mastering plugins
are involved, too.

Thank you in advance! :slight_smile:

Best regards,
Thurisaz

You’ll have to excuse my ignorance, since I’m not an expert in this area, but as far as I know the buffer size settings are under your control. You can specify the buffer size in your Fireface, in Dorico’s Device Setup dialog, and in VE Pro. So I believe you can set them all to the same value, can you not?

Hello Daniel,
Thank you for your reply! :slight_smile:
Yes, I know that the buffer size should be controlled by the Fireface, but something in Dorico has influence on VE Pro.
Generally it’s enough to set the audio driver to the desired buffer size. And with all other apps I have on my workstation works correctly.
The problem appears only with Dorico.
I’ve just noticed that when using Dorico and VEP it’s not possible lower the buffer size for VEP below 512. Even if you set the Fireface’s buffer size to 256, or 128.
I don’t have such issue with the other apps mentioned in my previous comment. So, I suppose it’s something Dorico related.

Probably the Audio Engine dev team would have any idea about what may cause this issue?!

Thank you once again! :slight_smile:

Best regards,