Dorico usable?

Hi all,

I’m a longtime professional Sibelius user (doing mostly orchestral music: filmscores, arrangements with or without rhythm section).

I’m curious on Dorico and bought it a while ago to support it. Only quickly I had a look in it then and noticed that it not yet was usable for real live projects (then: no cues notes, no chord symbols, no first/second ending etc.).

I’m thinking whether I should try again. Is any of you already using it for real live, professional projects? What are your experiences? Did you do the total switch from Sibelius (or Finale)?

Thanks for your input! Stefan

I did the total switch well over a year ago. Sibelius is still on my machine for opening old files, but I really hate working in it these days.
For orchestral music I’d like more control over brackets and braces, more support for basic graphic notation (wavy lines and the like) and I’d like the work that’s already been done on divisi to extend to the opposite - condensing (so that you can show two flutes on one stave in the score but print two separate parts for the two separate flautists). All of these things are very much in the pipeline.

Cue notes and cues are now very much here. 1st and 2nd endings work fine. Chord symbols are perfectly implemented, with the caveat that you can only have one “set” of chord symbols in a project - there’s no provision for a pianist having a fully-fledged set of chord symbols and a rhythm guitarist having a simplified subset.

Coming from Finale, Dorico 2.0 is now very much usable for my work. (I can’t speak for film scores, though.) The one thing that would make it perfect, which I believe is in the pipeline, is for parts to show tacet when the player is excluded from a flow, though there are workarounds.

Hello Stefan,