Doubts about upgrading to 64 bit

I’ve been using for many years my Cubase SX2, which is still running well despite being installed in a quite newer system (Win10 64, i9 CPU, SSD, 32GB ram…). Periodically I am tempted to update it, not only to take advantage of the many new features but also to upgrade to a 64-bit DAW.

However I’m always… held back by the same doubt: will I be able to continue using the VST instruments and plugins with which I have worked so far?
Most important: will I still be able to work with “Hypersonic 2”, which despite being quite “old” is still more than suited to my needs and has been used in almost all of my projects?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

You’ll need to bridge older 32bit plugins that don’t come with a 64bit wrapper. jbridge is a popular option. While older projects should load into the newest versions OK, you might have to redo some track connections and remix a bit in the event that plugin-ids change (I.E if you intend to use jbridged variants of old plugins…the IDs will change, and Cubase will throw up options to reconnect tracks and such upon loading the old project).

For your brand new ‘starting from scratch’ projects, look forward and use the latest Versions of everything you can…use newer plugins that come with the DAW, or update things and add whatever modern plugins you might need that isn’t covered with the included setup, etc.

As far as I know, any newer key(s) you update into will also run the older versions. I.E. A Cubase Pro 11 key on the USB licenser should be able to run all older and lower versions of Cubase. One can have several versions of Cubase installed on the same system. Just keep in mind that they all might share common plugins (at the latest version you’ve installed) unless you keep several directories for each DAW maintained separately and train each version to scan the relevant directories you want for specific plugin versions.