Dynamics weirdness

First of all, sorry for the barrage of posts over the last week; I’m new to Dorico! I’ve searched the forum for this stuff, but can’t seem to find exactly what I’m looking for.

I have several new questions related to dynamics:

1. Is there a way to automatically group all dynamics on each system? (And have it automatically regroup as needed if the layout changes?) I know how to do it manually and already assigned a keyboard shortcut for it, but it seems like an extra step to me. I’d rather have them automatically grouped to look more clean by default (i.e., aligned horizontally), and manually ungroup ones that I don’t feel need to be aligned with the rest.

2. When inputting a dynamic in the middle of a long note, I move the caret to where I want and input from there. This works fine for immediate dynamics, but the weird thing is that for gradual dynamics, the popover does not work. For those, I have to mouse over and click on the button I want in the righthand panel. A small inconvenience, but a little annoying! Is it a bug or am I misunderstanding something?

3. Another weird thing: let’s say I want to add a “subito” to an existing “f”. I click on “subito” in the righthand panel, but then if I change my mind, I cannot unclick it. There seems to be no way to remove the subito apart from deleting the dynamic and starting over. The same is true for gradual dynamics. At least for “poco a poco” and “niente” there are options to disable them in the bottom panel, but if I click “poco”, I seem to be stuck with it.

1. It could be that you’re entering the <, or whatever, but then not giving it a duration with the spacebar?
  1. No. It’s pretty quick to select one, then Select More, then group (assuming you’ve assigned a shortcut to grouping).