Easier Step Entry with Midi Keyboard and Qwerty Keyboard Together

Using Cubase 12 Pro on Windows 10 Pro
Launchkey Mini

I tried asking on the Cubase reddit, but have not received a response. I have music in my head, and I know what the notes would look like on a score. Trying to mouse the notes in is tedious. I’m not accomplished enough as a keyboardist to just play the notes in my head. I have to fumble around.

If this comes across as a lazy thing, and that maybe I should just practice, let’s turn this on its ear by considering it as a methodology useful for composers with disabilities. That said, I am not disabled. I’ve just been too busy to compose and practice for thirty years since I’m not a professional musician, and I’m getting frustrated that there isn’t a simpler way. It just occurs to me that this could really help a segment of future composers who may actually be disabled as well as struggling non-professionals who have music inside but can’t figure out how to express it.

I have tried step-wise entry, and find myself a little frustrated. I’m pushing keys and the notes are advancing. More often than not, I fumble the notes, and I end up trying to undo, or insert, or mouse the notes into the right position on the score. It’s super tedious and agonizing.

I want a better step-wise interface. It’s possible something like this already exists within the cubase software, or it’s something I can curate within my midi settings… If there isn’t… Why not?