Editing Mediabay Categories and sub-categories

Hi all!

I’m new to newer Cubase (last one I used was SX 3) so this mediabay thing is new for me. I’ve been importing my samples to that, but I’ve ran into a problem that I can’t edit the categories and when I’ve tried to google about that (and search this forum as well) I haven’t found an answer. One forum suggested that the only way was to edit some database file (which I couldn’t find though)

I mean, this Mediabay lacks certain quite common sub-categories for drums such as claps.

Is there a way to create new Categories and Sub-categories inside Mediabay or is there some kind of a work-around for that?

Other than that, after few problems with first use (unregistered old plugins that came from my old Saffire soundcard which crashed the program whenever launched) this seems like quite few steps forward since SX 3. No wonder, though as it was quite a few years old :smiley:

1 Like

See where it says “Various”? You can create whatever custom categories you want there. I chose to call mine “Key Words”. Then you can tag your samples (or vstpresets, midiloops, patternbanks, etc…) by writing in “CLAP” or whatever other custom tags you want to apply. Cubase will then save that custom tag so you don’t have to retype every time you want to tag a sample. Hope that helps… :slight_smile:

Hi, and thanks for that tip, but it is only a somewhat of a workaround which can also be done with “Notes” section.

But I would like to be able to edit these ‘Category’ and ‘Sub Category’ parts, not create extra notes or keywords.

But thanks anyways for that tip!

So there’s no way to add/edit Categories and sub-categories?

See the manual section - Media Bay - The Attribute Inspector

Pgs 410 - 415 in the current V7 English Manual (Dec 3 2012)

Yes, I read the manual about this particular thing before even posting here for the first time :slight_smile: