EDU license up- and crossgrade Cubase-Nuendo

Hello everyone,

I would love to hear some advise: I’m a student right now. I plan on using Nuendo in the future for some commercial work, mainly post/surround/audio for video. Say in a year. I’m fairly advanced when it comes to working with DAW’s, have used PT a long time, so I don’t need that much practice in Nuendo but could use Cubase at the moment for what I do.
I’m specifically asking finance and legal wise: In a (very short) disclaimer Steinberg says that educational versions may not be used for commercial work. Get it. So when I freelance I have to buy a full version.
Should I invest in Cubase Pro EDU work a bit with it and then crossgrade to Nuendo (retail) when it is necessary? Or should I acquire Nuendo EDU? The price difference between the two isn’t huge that’s why I’m a bit torn :slight_smile:

When it comes to the full/retail version: The crossgrade from Cubase Pro to the current Nuendo version is 400 €. The upgrade from the last to the current Nuendo version is 200 €.
I want to confirm that update wise Steinberg regards EDU versions as conventional versions, right?

Thanks everyone
Chris

They do. But don’t take the word of a product user, the authoritative info is listed on the website, might take a few seconds of searching for it.

well you are in luck, nuendo is on a 40% discount sale until june 21… perhaps just invest in it now and have all the features you want instead of possibly crippling yourself with cubase?

Most of my Steinberg software was acquired when I was entitled to EDU pricing. All but one licence has subsequently been upgraded, becoming a retail licence in the process. The upgrade to retail status removes the restrictions on EDU licences: they cannot be used for commercial work and are Not For Resale. Steinberg only offers EDU discount on full licences, never on upgrades to a larger product or version updates, and does not include EDU licences in their periodic sales.